Author Topic: Beginner Lesson learnerd  (Read 1850 times)

SonOfMartin

Beginner Lesson learnerd
« on: January 07, 2011, 10:43:55 am »
I'm an absolute beginner to the scroll saw.  I have a Craiglist special Ryobi and was given two books for Christmas.

I read about sanding / polishing the table surface, which of course I ignored.

I tried lesson #1 of the Scroll Saw Workbook twice and had a miserable time because the wood kept 'hanging up' as I tried to turn it.  I made sure my left index finger was in the correct position, held my tongue over to the correct side, but the wood kept getting 'stuck'.

So I grabbed another of my Christmas gifts - a Rockwell Sonicrafter and put on the sanding pads and went to the table.

After about 20 minutes or so of running the grits and polishing with some old car paste wax, the table was as smooth as .....

Grabbed another copy of lesson #1 and the wood glides and no longer hangs up!

So, I confirmed that I still don't believe what I read from multiple sources and also confirmed that I think my lathe is going to get rusty as I play with my scroll saw!  This is fun!
« Last Edit: January 07, 2011, 11:28:40 am by SonOfMartin »

Bill P

Re: Beginner Lesson learnerd
« Reply #1 on: January 07, 2011, 11:20:02 am »
Welcome to the hobby, Son of Martin.  It sounds to me like you've been bit by the bug.

Bill

Offline dgman

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: January 07, 2011, 12:04:36 pm »
Sometimes it takes working things out on your own to learn!
Make sure the car wax you use does not contain silicone as it can interferer with some finishes. Silicone is always a no no in a woodworking shop.
Dan In Southern California

Sawdust Dave

« Reply #3 on: January 07, 2011, 12:11:07 pm »
My scroll saw always sat idle unless I wanted to incorporate something into a furniture design. Now everything else sits idle unless I need it in a scroll saw project. There's still hope for your lathe if you get into scroll saw bowls or boxes  LOL

SonOfMartin