Author Topic: Hola from texas  (Read 831 times)

DecafMommy

Hola from texas
« on: April 20, 2010, 12:29:39 pm »
Hello, I am rather new to scrolling, I just started a few weeks ago, so I am about as new to the hobby as it gets. However, I have been around woodworking my whole life. My father taught me and my sibling how to use basics tools and "measure twice, cut once" and helped us do small carpentry projects as kids. Now retired, he and my mother do 1870's fort reenacting as  Carpenter and wife. I wanted him to make my son (19 months) a wooden farm set like the Noah's Ark set he made for my mom. So I picked up a copy of Scroll Saw magazine a few months back  that had such a pattern. What I wasn't expecting was just how AWESOME the other patterns would be! So I mentioned to my husband that I wouldn't mind trying it, if, you know, we ever had the money/time to get a scroll saw. He thought for a moment and said "I think I have one at my mom's place...." And sure enough, he already had one! (I swear, between my husband and his brother, they have nearly every type of tool made!) It's just an entry-level Ryobi from Sears, but it works fine for what I am doing. My first project is to make a seascape mural for my son's room using cut-out sealife. Sorry, I don't know all the terms yet! So far, I feel more at ease using a scroll saw than I ever was using knitting needles!

Well, there is the long version of a short story, but I am very glad to be part of this community and look forward to sharing of ideas!

cherie

Re: Hola from texas
« Reply #1 on: April 20, 2010, 12:43:14 pm »