Author Topic: Top Feed Blade Ideas  (Read 2512 times)

Offline Larry_B

• View Profile
Top Feed Blade Ideas
« on: April 30, 2018, 09:14:27 am »
Good day fellow scrollers.

Have a question that I've seen on these forums, but the theads are rather old.  My question is top feeding a blade on a Dewalt 788.  I've been scrolling for 6 years and have always bottom fed the blade.  I can do a blade change in 12 seconds.

However I've been toying with portraits and the larger sizes are crimping that routine. I need to learn to top feed the blade.  I've looked a videos and read remarks, but honestly I tried a few times this past week and I bet I fumbled for a couple minutes to get the blade into the bottom clap (without looking) and then on my Dewalt I find to get good tension I need to push the top arm down slightly when clamping the blade.  This move really requires three hands.

So is there any update on top feeding techniques for a Dewalt 788?  Pointers, modification to clamps, suggestions?

Thanks all.  I'm going to post this across several forums to get good coverage so I appologize in advance.

Larry

Offline don in brooklin on

• View Profile
Re: Top Feed Blade Ideas
« Reply #1 on: April 30, 2018, 10:29:31 am »
Steve did a video on top feeding with a laser.https://youtu.be/lV-6UdeU3VY

I usually bottom feed and do very few portrait type projects but I have a couple in mind so I built one too.  It cost me $10.50 CDN to buy laser and transformer from banggood.com.

I have it ready to go but have not used yet.

I have had problems in the past in getting the hole I am going to use lined up.  Ruined a few blades and scratched up the table a little so that is why I am going to try the laser on my next project.

Don

Offline Norm Fengstad

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: April 30, 2018, 11:37:46 am »