Author Topic: Another Question re Dust Collection.  (Read 1204 times)

Old Crow

Another Question re Dust Collection.
« on: March 15, 2013, 10:13:49 am »
I put my new HF Dust Collector together yesterday and today I am going to run the piping for it. The DC will be housed in an adjacent building to my workshop. My initial thought was to run a 4 inch header into the workshop and run 1 1/2 inch branches to my tools. Is this the best way or should I reduce the piping at the DC inlet and run all 1 1/2 inch piping? If I use PVC pipe does it need to be grounded to discharge static electricity?
Your thoughts will be appreciated.
Don R

Offline BilltheDiver

• View Profile
Re: Another Question re Dust Collection.
« Reply #1 on: March 15, 2013, 11:12:07 am »
I am no expert, but I would avoid reducing the pipe size whenever possible, and when necessary do it at the last possible point.  Reducing the pipe size will drastically affect the amount of air flow.  Many of my tools absolutely need the 4" size.  My planner, joiner, and drum sander would not function properly with a 1 1/2 inch outlet.  I would also recommend grounding the pvc for static discharge.  For some reason my drum sander produces a large amount of static when in use.
"Measure twice, cut once, count fingers"

Old Crow

« Reply #2 on: March 15, 2013, 01:36:06 pm »
Thanks Bill! 4 inch it is.
Don R

Offline dgman

• View Profile
« Reply #3 on: March 15, 2013, 03:14:55 pm »
Hey Don, The only reason you want to ground the PVC runs is to discharge the static charge so you don't get zapped when it is running. There is no danger of the static electricity causing an explosion or anything like that!
Dan In Southern California

multifasited

« Reply #4 on: March 15, 2013, 09:02:34 pm »