Author Topic: Hi, im a newbie and i request some advise :)  (Read 4209 times)

Redshirt

Hi, im a newbie and i request some advise :)
« on: February 11, 2016, 02:23:10 pm »
Hello,
My name's Daniel, im from germany and i just found this community. Since i bought my first scrollsaw a while ago i find myself constantly frustrated by my inability to properly cut even relatively thing wood.
It's perhaps a matter of practice  but i just can't seem to be able to cut a (straight or curved, it doesn't matter much) line without constant bumps (which then need to be sanded) and the ever present feel that the blade is somehow twisting.  It's especialy annoying with concave shapes (like the inside of a ship's frames) lines since sanding them is usualy a bit difficult and frustrating.
Since i have seen many wonderful projects here i wonder, can anyone give me a piece of advice?

Offline don in brooklin on

• View Profile
Re: Hi, im a newbie and i request some advise :)
« Reply #1 on: February 11, 2016, 02:40:52 pm »
Hi there

Thin wood is actually harder to cut than something a little thicker.  When I am doing 1/8 I often cut 2 0r 3 at a time as the resistance makes it easier.

Keeping on the line takes practice.  On Steve's site he has some videos on each type on line including straight lines.

http://www.stevedgood.com/school/sss.html

Also, Shelia Landry has good lessons at Lumberjocks

http://lumberjocks.com/scrollgirl/blog/series/4134

Offline ALG

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: February 11, 2016, 07:41:03 pm »
Do what Don said and things will go better for you.

Offline DWSudekum

• View Profile
    • The DW Collection
« Reply #3 on: February 11, 2016, 08:21:26 pm »