Author Topic: Welcome  (Read 85115 times)

Offline New2Scrolling

• View Profile
The newbiest newbie EVER!
« Reply #360 on: May 25, 2020, 09:38:49 am »

Hi Everyone! I am the newest newbie to probably hit this thread in a long time! My dad was, IMO, a master - his work back in the late 90s looked like wooden lace - it was beautiful!  He was a carpenter by trade, and when he retired he found the scrollsaw and Victorian fretwork. His last scrollsaw was a DeWalt 788 and the one I just brought is, yep -- DeWalt 788! I didn't realize that until I ran across a photograph of my dad with his new saw. 

My saw is still in the box, I'm waiting to unbox it when I find a stand that's reasonably priced (I have several Ebay watchlists going) Anyway, I hope to be able to at least do some cute things I have in mind and cut out some of the designs I've created with my new scroll saw. Hopefully, my dad will be watching over my shoulder to steer me. 

I'm also in need of a scrollsaw mentor and Mr. Good's videos and his shop sort of reminded me of my dads shop --- so I'm ready for begin trolling the posts and looking for a wood sensei to help me find my timber-zen!  ;D

Offline spirithorse

• View Profile
Re: Welcome
« Reply #361 on: May 25, 2020, 09:13:43 pm »
Welcome to the forum!
Steve Good puts out a new pattern almost daily so, you will always have something to cut or something to inspire new ideas.
You can always ask questions and get some good answers and the members are knowledgeable, helpful, and non-judgmental.
Enjoy yourself, show us your projects and God Bless! Spirithorse

Offline Gdmartin

• View Profile
« Reply #362 on: November 14, 2020, 03:40:11 am »
Garry from Pittsburgh Pa, thanks for the forum. was having a hard time getting started so much to learn. Not much progress so far. being 80 years old iss not helping but i am willing to try my best.

Offline GLC

• View Profile
« Reply #363 on: November 14, 2020, 09:57:20 am »