Author Topic: New to Scrolling - Health Issues  (Read 3509 times)

Offline terrymargeson66

• View Profile
New to Scrolling - Health Issues
« on: June 26, 2016, 03:39:59 pm »
Hi All
I am new to Scroliing and live in the UK. Only been scrolling two months and have experienced a problem with swollen eyes. Medics on examination state that it is the dust from Scrolling especially recently when using Ash Hardwood. I do not wear a mask when working and have not seen any You Tube clips of people wearing them. I have been advised to wear a respirator type dust mask and safety googles ( although I already wear glasses) I must state that I have carried out alot of sanding to finish the pieces made without any personal protection.
I would really appreciate your comments guys as the 'good lady indoors' thinks she may have made a mistake buying it me as a retirement present having recently finished my working life.

Offline Jason.Boushard

• View Profile
Re: New to Scrolling - Health Issues
« Reply #1 on: June 26, 2016, 09:50:53 pm »
get a full face resperator and you will be fine.

Offline terrymargeson66

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: June 27, 2016, 04:36:43 am »
Hi Jason
Thank you for your response. I have a respirator type dust mask on order. Just out of curiosity do you use a dust extraction unit/ vac to take away the dust whilst working? I thinlk a majority of my recent problem is down to sanding Ash Hardwood as this has only occured on the two occassions that I have used this wood.

Offline julief

• View Profile
« Reply #3 on: June 27, 2016, 06:50:05 am »
There are some woods that are toxic.  I often wear a dust mask depending on the type of wood and what I'm doing.  I almost always wear one when sanding.  People react differently to different types of wood.  Alergic reactions, I guess. 

Offline terrymargeson66

• View Profile
« Reply #4 on: June 27, 2016, 07:12:48 am »