Author Topic: Intarsia Video  (Read 2248 times)

Offline troy_curtis

• No matter where you go...there you are.
    • View Profile
Intarsia Video
« on: October 10, 2015, 06:57:16 pm »
I would love to see a good video on cutting intarsia. I have done a few projects but no matter how good I cut my pieces do not fit as nice as some of what I see on here. To see someone cutting different woods that fit perfectly together with some advice on this process would be super.

Offline don in brooklin on

• View Profile
Re: Intarsia Video
« Reply #1 on: October 11, 2015, 05:18:43 am »
I am fairly new at Intarsia but here are a couple of tips I have found work plus a link to a video. 

At a recent seminar, Judy Gale Roberts recommended that you use a magnifying glass to cut all adjoining pieces.  She then cuts to the line exactly.  I have tried but every magnifier I tried duplicates the line instead of enlarging due the astigmatism in one eye.  I therefore go real slow.  Also, I find it easier to cut red lines versus black.

Also, it is very important the your blade is exactly 90 degrees and when you cut corners that you do not let the blade bend.  Recently I got a flat master (similar to a Sandflee)  and found that a lot of boards that I thought where flat had a slight warp and a couple of passes on the flat master made it perfect and made the match even better.

There is a video series listed below that is fairly lengthy but part 5 talks about repairing gaps.  It works quite well.

https://youtu.be/npTeGSGGxjY

In all it takes lots of practice and patience.

Don

If all else fails a little glue and saw dust in the joint works too.

Offline troy_curtis

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: October 11, 2015, 09:35:51 pm »
Don,