Author Topic: arrow of light  (Read 1851 times)

Rising_Creek

arrow of light
« on: February 28, 2013, 02:29:39 am »
Hi Steve,

I am a rookie scroller. Trying to do an arrow of light project for my
son for boy scouts. I bought a Porter Cable saw at Lowes. Your videos
have been helpful. I am having difficulty getting my cuts straight. I
watched the video explaining the burr on the blade. To cut at an
angle, not straight to the blade. Can you tell me if the scroll saw is
the best tool for this job? Any advice for sanding the sides straight?
Just wrap sandpaper in a block of wood?

I am open for feed back. It may just be my skills at this point. I
will include an attachment with this email of what I am attempting to
make. Then a 2nd email with my work samples.

Thanks,

Dan

Offline dunk

• Staying positive.
    • View Profile
    • Mike's Wood-n-Things
Re: arrow of light
« Reply #1 on: February 28, 2013, 11:27:14 am »
The scroll saw is ideal for this job, however that being said there are a lot of very straight cuts required for this project and you will need to practice, practice, practice to get them down.  You may find except for the interior cut that a band saw may be better suited for this project if you are in a hurry to get it done.

Don't give up on the scroll saw it is very versatile, there is a learning curve however and some folks get impatient & discouraged.
Mike

Junk is something you've kept for years and throw away three weeks before you need it.

countryscroller

« Reply #2 on: February 28, 2013, 11:52:22 am »
Welcome Dan. I am Dustin from Ohio. Like Mike said, practice makes perfect. The more you play around with the saw, the more you will get used to it's ways and how it particularly cuts with the angle to feed the wood in and such. I would like to see a picture of the final project when you are done. Good luck.

Becky

« Reply #3 on: March 10, 2013, 12:12:46 am »
Hi Dan,