Author Topic: spiral blades versus regular blades  (Read 3197 times)

Bzern

spiral blades versus regular blades
« on: December 18, 2012, 07:11:59 pm »
Hello,
I have been scrolling for about a year now, and I've only ever used traditional blades.  What are the advantages/disadvantages of a spiral blade?
Thanks,
Ben

countryscroller

Re: spiral blades versus regular blades
« Reply #1 on: December 18, 2012, 07:51:24 pm »
I have only used regular blades too, but fretwork or small cuts is easier with spiral. Disadvantage is you can't make as good of a straight line with it. I don't think I will be getting any anytime soon. My FD UR do me just fine!

Offline dirtrider73068

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: December 18, 2012, 08:13:48 pm »
I am new to scrolling, been using the plain end straight blades, but have some spirals to try. I didn't like them, hard to keep a straight line, might be good to use to trim up the curved or round areas, but over all scrolling I didn't like the spiral.

Offline newfie

• The Way I Scroll
    • View Profile
    • some of my woodworking
« Reply #3 on: December 18, 2012, 09:35:18 pm »
i use regular blades all the time but i did use spirals for this project http://stevedgood.com/community/index.php?topic=12011.0 andi like them alot i'm going to make a project in the new year thats 4 feet long and 14 inches wide and im going to use spirals on that as well i'm pretty sure i wouldn't be able to use regular blades on it just for the length of it alone.

excalibur 21
Every woodworker needs a fireplace

countryscroller

« Reply #4 on: December 18, 2012, 09:39:38 pm »
Actually Todd, I learned if you rotate the blade around so the teeth are facing the back of the saw, you can pull the piece of work and cut it without have the problem of the size throat you have on your saw. Just a thought.

Offline Judy Hunter

• The world moves on.
    • View Profile
    • Artistic Sawdust and Other Fun Stuff
« Reply #5 on: December 18, 2012, 11:08:05 pm »