Author Topic: Beginner blades  (Read 11758 times)

rbaron

Beginner blades
« on: April 19, 2010, 09:38:07 am »
Can someone please tell me a good assortment of blades for beginners? I read the Scrollsaw magazine and it seems like you need a bunch of different blades to become a successful scroller. Is this the case?

Also where can I but good blades? I hate to go to Lowes or Home Depot only to find out I could have bought them for 1/2 the price.

Thanks in advance.......

ufgator

Re: Beginner blades
« Reply #1 on: April 19, 2010, 10:05:34 am »
Hi rbaron!  I'm a beginner also and found thru Steves blog that mikesworkshop.com is the best deal in town.  They have a 5 blade assortment that is great for us beginners. I also got their special puzzle blades which are fantastic.  Shipping is fast and I understand they can answer any questions you may have.  Good luck!

Bill

AL

« Reply #2 on: April 19, 2010, 10:08:40 am »
I to am beginning to scroll saw, and have had a tough time finding a store that sells a variety.  Lowe's and Ace hardware have only a small selection. i know i can find them on the net but i like to buy from a store. any suggestions????

Seer

« Reply #3 on: April 19, 2010, 10:15:17 am »
One of the best places and people to get blades and advice from is Mike at http://www.mikesworkshop.com/ he is a great guy and sells imho the best blades out there.

dankc908

« Reply #4 on: April 19, 2010, 10:28:19 am »
I concur with Seer on Mike's blades.  If you call him (Mike) he will answer any questions you have about scrolling and blades.  The FD (Flying Dutchman) blades are 'the best'.  I use no other brands any more.

Dan

AnotherSteve

« Reply #5 on: April 19, 2010, 11:00:55 am »