Author Topic: Fire Safety!  (Read 1574 times)

Offline GrayBeard

• My DW 788 sends you HUGZZZZ from Missouri, USA!
    • View Profile
Fire Safety!
« on: May 26, 2010, 03:17:17 pm »
As a former Volunteer FireFighter I am conscious of this matter.

Do you keep all pressurized spray cans localized in a cabinet?
Are all 'flammables', ie, thinners, solvents, etc. stored in a metal locker?
Do you use a safety can for your wiping materials, rags, paper towels, etc.?

A friend and neighbor is on our local FireFighting service and he has even placed an 'Alert' in the system that shows I have flammables stored in my garage so the response team knows what they are facing if they have to come.

Please review your Fire Safety measures for the protection of you, your family and your FireFighters!

~~~GrayBeard~~~
I never really wanted to grow up....All I wanted was to be able to reach the cookie jar...and play with my DW 788

Joesawdust

Re: Fire Safety!
« Reply #1 on: May 26, 2010, 05:02:24 pm »
Great reminder GrayBeard and something a lot of us don't think enough about.
Greg

cherie

« Reply #2 on: May 26, 2010, 05:12:08 pm »
I never thought about the fire hazard thing.  Thanks for bringing it up.  Our workshop gets so hot, so I keep all cans of everything whether they be pressurized or not in the house tucked in a place where no kids, heat, or cold can get to them.  That would be bad to have one blow up

Offline jimbo

• View Profile
« Reply #3 on: May 26, 2010, 10:54:45 pm »
A great topic and is often forgotten about, if you are using any finishing oils the cloths must be dried before disposing of, I put mine in a metal tin and when all the material is dry I dispose of it, dust is also another one, all dust should be cleaned up on a regular basis, I never work unless my garage door is open as the air is constantlly being circulated by the 2 extactor fans I have running while working, its cold in the winter but better than being burned to death, think about it members.
Jimbo