Author Topic: where do you find thin wood?  (Read 6253 times)

Offline yyyyyguy

• yyyyyguy
    • View Profile
where do you find thin wood?
« on: June 18, 2010, 12:40:05 am »
I'm still new at this and will be for a year or so I suspect, where do you find the thin  wood?  I see you can buy it on e-bay but isn't there a place like home depot to get it??  It's kinda tough making it on my table saw...
I love the smell of saw dust in the morning.

Becky

Re: where do you find thin wood?
« Reply #1 on: June 18, 2010, 01:01:32 am »
Home Depot has some as does Lowes but only down to 1/4 inch.  Typically poplar and red oak - at least in my area.  If you have a Rockler or Woodcraft store nearby, they will have more species of wood and down to 1/8 inch.  Another possibility is a local lumberyard.  Past that I think you have to order from online.

sp_343

« Reply #2 on: June 18, 2010, 06:26:10 pm »
I get from either:  www.wildwooddesigns.com -or-  www.cherrytreetoys.com  (Same company...just 2 different web-sites that sell different types of plans and supplies)

I just a box of 1/8" wood from them today (cherry & purple heart) and it is NICE!!  All square, sanded, no warps or bends, no knots....just really nice wood.

I have gotten some from eBay before...
I have gotten from www.ocoochhardwoods.com

I order all my stuff on line...since local stores like Lowes & Menards only get as low as 1/4"...and that is mostly Oak and Poplar.  The pine only gets down to 3/8".

Good luck....there are many places on-line to shop...

shissta

« Reply #3 on: June 18, 2010, 07:02:45 pm »
If you have a Hobby Lobby close by they may carry some thin wood.  I found some 3/16 Baltic Birch at our local store. 

Joesawdust

« Reply #4 on: June 18, 2010, 08:35:43 pm »
Check out www.sloanswoodshop.com also I've used them for several years, good people, however they aren't carrying much hardwood anymore, but do have a good selection of plywoods

Greg

Offline Russ C

• Global Moderator