Author Topic: introduction  (Read 4280 times)

rob roy

introduction
« on: October 17, 2011, 05:00:19 pm »
Allow me to introduce myself. My name is Roy Neil. I live in the town of Kilmarnock. No, not in Virginia USA, but in Ayrshire Scotland.I have been working with wood in one way or another for 50 years as a joiner/cabinet maker. during that time with all the woodworking machines you can imagine,with one exception and that is the SCROLL SAW
I was given a Rexon 16" saw which didn't work. So being a miserable Scot I decided to investigate and found a dry joint at the back of the motor. 10 minutes and a dab of solder and it works fine. The next problem was, what to do with it!!. I have angina which puts the heavier woodworking into touch. So I Googled Scrollsawing (good old Google) and found Steve Good and all you good folks (pardon the pun).
Be prepared for a lot of stupid questions. I know how to switch it on, the blade, if I had one, goes up and down and then switch it off LOL.
Seriously this is the best site I have found after a lot of searching. It's going to be a steep learning as I have a two and a half year old grandson and Christmas is coming up fast. I will be looking for all the help I can get but i'm certain I will get it here
By the way I am 65 and retired. Growing old is inevitable. Growing up is optional!!
Thank you for allowing me to join the big family family
                                                                                Roy

Offline dgman

• View Profile
Re: introduction
« Reply #1 on: October 17, 2011, 05:08:28 pm »
Hey Roy, welcome to the forum. I'm Dan From Southern California. Come on in and join the fun. BTW, there is no such thing as a dumb question! The only dumb question is the one not asked!
Dan In Southern California

rob roy

« Reply #2 on: October 17, 2011, 05:13:19 pm »
Hi dgman, thank you for your warm welcome. Nice to be a member of the big family.

Bamacfa

« Reply #3 on: October 17, 2011, 05:28:29 pm »