Author Topic: What do you use for sanding?  (Read 2327 times)

Candi_D

What do you use for sanding?
« on: December 06, 2012, 06:08:57 pm »
Hi Everyone!

I'm just getting started (as in my saw is due to arrive tomorrow), just thinking ahead and making sure I have all my bases covered. What do you use for sanding when needed? Is a dremel a good tool to use for small spaces? I have on and was thinking maybe I should pick up the flex shaft attachement?

Thanks for any advice!

Offline dgman

• View Profile
Re: What do you use for sanding?
« Reply #1 on: December 06, 2012, 07:11:30 pm »
Hey Candi, to start with, I always sand my blanks to finish grit. I use a random orbital sander. Depending on how rough the blank surface is I start with 100, then 150 then 220 grit. After you are done cutting, you only have to touch up with 220 grit. You can use the Dremel to sand the edges if needed. Once you find the correct blade and blade speed for the type and thickness of the wood, you shouldn't have to sand the edges. The same goes for the edges of your inside cuts. To touch up inside cuts you can use an assortment of needle files or nail files or sandpaper glued to small sticks.
There are a lot of other sanders available for scroll saw projects, but lets get started cutting first and see where it takes you.
Dan In Southern California

countryscroller

« Reply #2 on: December 06, 2012, 07:23:21 pm »
I'm thinking about getting the Sand Flee some day. That's the next big purchase for the shop.

Becky

« Reply #3 on: December 06, 2012, 09:04:07 pm »
Take what dgman posted as gospel!  I learned this tip from him and it is well worth the time spent up-front.  I never cut before I sand.