Author Topic: Porter Cable Dust Blower upgraded with Air Pump.  (Read 4269 times)

IBMer

Porter Cable Dust Blower upgraded with Air Pump.
« on: November 07, 2012, 10:05:37 pm »
Hello,  I recently bought my first scroll saw.   It's just a Porter Cable from Lowes, but hey, it's my first, and I'm just learning.    Anyhow, I wasn't impressed with the dust blower that came with the saw.   It's basically a small rubber ball that is squeezed each time the upper arm comes up.   It works ok when the saw is turned up to a high speed, but hardly does anything at lower blade speeds.

So today, I decided to buy a Tetra Whisper Deepwater Air Pump, Model 150 and hooked it up in place of my stock bellows.   I pulled the stock hose out of the Stock Flexible blower, and pushed the new air line back into it, all the way to the very tip.     I noticed a tiny little bit of air blowing back out, so I dabbed a little silicone to stop any chance of leaks.

I drilled a hole into the cover that originally held the bellows and ran the new air line through the cover.   Then, I zip tied the the line off to the side and to the rear of the saw where I placed the Air Pump.     It looks almost stock.

Anyhow, my first impression is that it blows 3 times more air than the stock set-up and doesn't care if the blade speed is high or low.  I can actually feel the air blowing on my hand and it keeps my patterns clear of dust without causing a Hurricane.   The air pump is designed to work in a 150 gallon aquarium and it has the power to push 2 liters per minute of air down to 8 feet into the water.  It came with a lifetime warranty and is nearly silent.   According to the manufacturer, the air pump reaches it peak capabilities after a few hours of use, so I'm thinking the pressure will only get better as it breaks-in.    I'll try to post some pics, but there isn't much to see besides the new air line running down the side of the machine.