Author Topic: New to scrolling  (Read 1043 times)

Offline mamell

• View Profile
New to scrolling
« on: November 23, 2015, 10:34:23 am »
Good morning  (assuming it's morning for you) . I'm new to scrolling myself and using a used Dremel 1672 and the learning curve seems a bit steep and I've had to make modifications especially with the blade adapters. The allen screws were just one so I use a Phillips screw, but even that never seems to tighten enough.  My hands shake a tad too much for the Allen screws and can't get enough torque. The Phillips works better.
The real problem I'm running across is threading the fine blades into tiny holes and the guard foot gets in the way. I guess I'm just used to using a sledge hammer to crack eggs. My background is auto body work so brute force usually worked for me. ;)
Perhaps I'm doing things in the wrong order. What order do most of you use when threading blades into tiny holes? If I secure the blade into the bottom adapter first I run into the problem of the blade binding when trying to catch the top adapter and if I reverse the process I run into not being able to thread into the bottom adapter in the limited space under the table surface.  Of course the guard foot gets in the way. I'd like to modify the foot to make it easily removable. 
Maybe I just need a little more patience.
I read the thread on the blower bellow and yes, mine is also about as useless as a sledge hammer in brain surgery so I'm thinking of using a spare air tank for that problem.
I'll keep plugging away here. I've got more time now days than money.

Offline Wooden Lace

• View Profile
Re: New to scrolling
« Reply #1 on: November 23, 2015, 02:21:21 pm »