Author Topic: Cutting curves etc (a beginner)  (Read 2774 times)

Topspin

Cutting curves etc (a beginner)
« on: June 24, 2013, 08:46:45 am »
Hi Steve,

I've watched a number of your workshop videos and they are very informative, clear, well shot presentations, so congratulations.

I'm a beginner and bought my saw at the weekend (Clarke Vari Speed,Light CSS400C) it's a UK basic entry saw.

I'm really struggling to cut around a template shape of a birds wing (Whirlibird), no internal cutting at this stage. I only seem to be able to cut straight lines, sort of.

I'm using a 18 teeth single action blade, and the tension sounds like a guitar string.

Do I need to be more aggresive with turning the wood through angles, or slow down turning the item, or increase the speed of the blade, probably running at 800rpm at present (range 550rpm-1600rpm). I think I may be to worried about snapping the blade.

You make it look so easy, any tips would be greatly received.

Thanks Topspin

Offline daveo

• DT CRAFTS LINCS UK
    • View Profile
Re: Cutting curves etc (a beginner)
« Reply #1 on: June 24, 2013, 12:30:02 pm »
Hi
mate I am going to have a go in steves absents
I am going to assume that if you bought a clarke you are first using pin ended blades and secondly you are using blades that came with the machine or were supplied to you by machine mart.
If I am right on either count then throw them in the bin they are useless.
I also assume that there is a set of blade holder adaptors for pinless blades supplied try using those with some reasonable quality blades at first and then progress.In short I think you will find that the problem is the blades.
for the blades try "hobbies" they sell Niqua blades that are made by flying dutchman (supposedly).