Author Topic: Wounded Warrior Foundation  (Read 1900 times)

Shogun

Wounded Warrior Foundation
« on: September 29, 2013, 07:50:09 pm »
I just had to post this. I am beside myself, and super angry right now. My MC has been a big supporter of the Wounded Warrior Foundation for several years. Some of you may have seen their commercials on television.....I just found out yesterday that only 38% of what is raised goes to help our Vets. That means  62% goes to cover overhead and salary. That's right SALARY...and the big shots are making $350,00 a year plus bonuses.

I'm a combat vet, so why are these guys cashing in and why are they getting bonuses?

In comparison the MCFSC (Marine Corps Family Support Community) 97% of donations go to helping Vets. That 3% is for paperwork and misc. admin fees. NO ONE RECIEVES A SINGLE NICKLE for their effort.

Because of this my MC is going to reconsider donating any more money to Wounded  Warriors in the future and will quite possibly set up a separate fund where 100% of the money raised will go for warriors.

How dare these people sleep under the blanket of freedom us vets have provided!

Offline Rapid Roger

• Hutchinson, Kansas
    • View Profile
Re: Wounded Warrior Foundation
« Reply #1 on: September 30, 2013, 10:27:43 am »
You've just hit the tip of the iceberg.
Most of those bigger "support" organizations are like that. I found that out years ago about the Red Cross and refuse to donate to them.
And the telemarketers that call about donating to various police organizations are even worse.
I don't mind donating to my local people and church but, it is a shame when you find out just how much the girl scout troop gets out of a $7.00 box of cookies! I have tried to just give a girl scout a $20.00 bill instead of  buying the cookies and her scout leader said that they weren't allowed to accept cash donations!
What can you do when you want to help people who need it but the "middlemen" get in the way?

Rog