Author Topic: Oiling as a finish?  (Read 2945 times)

Dawie

Oiling as a finish?
« on: July 20, 2010, 08:58:52 am »
I have wanted to ask this for a while, but then get distracted by something else. I read here that quite a lot of you use oil as a finish to your work. I have never tried it and had not heard of it before. Can you guys explain to me what type of oils can be used and how do I apply them and what treatment must I give the wood before/after?
Thanks.
David

Offline dunk

• Staying positive.
    • View Profile
    • Mike's Wood-n-Things
Re: Oiling as a finish?
« Reply #1 on: July 20, 2010, 10:47:19 am »
I sand my work prior to cutting down to 220, after I cut I do a hand sanding depending on delicateness (is that a word) fragility.  I then remove any sawdust by using either a tack cloth or my air compressor.  Then depending on size of the project I dip it in either lemon oil full strength or tung oil which I mix about 50/50 with mineral spirits.  I mix with m/s because it helps it dry faster.  After it has soaked for a few minute, I place it on a paper towel for a few minutes to let it absorb and drip off the some of the residual oil.  I blow off the excess with my air compressor or wipe down with a lint free old t-shirt.

That's how I do it..
Mike

Junk is something you've kept for years and throw away three weeks before you need it.

Dawie

« Reply #2 on: July 20, 2010, 12:21:15 pm »
Thanks dunk. Do you mean by dipping, putting the oil in some container so you can lay the wood in it? Or do you do it differently.
David

shissta

« Reply #3 on: July 20, 2010, 12:34:51 pm »
I bought a cheap container and dumped the oil in so I can dip the wood projects in the Lemon oil.  After I dry it off I use minwax Polycrylic protective finish so the oil doesn't seap out and get on the wall etc.  Depending on what your going to do with the project.  Get a nice shine to your project with the oil.

Offline dunk

• Staying positive.
    • View Profile