Author Topic: The science of scrolling  (Read 2402 times)

Shogun

The science of scrolling
« on: October 30, 2013, 01:41:26 pm »
To start out this may not seem like a scrolling topic but I think readers will see the connection. I was in my shop this morning thinking and a post from a new member popped in my head. He said he had been watching vids on u-tube and was amazed at the speed at which some scrollers turn and cut their work. So I started thinking about that in its self, and suddenly it clicked. Science, and this is where it gets interesting. I am a fairly accomplishes Martial Artist. Back in the day I competed on a regular basis. I remember in one tournament I defeated an opponent using the same technique 3 times in a row in less than two minutes. Why?....Muscle Memory. Granted some athletic ability helps but in general it is the sole reason athletes make what it is they do look effortless. Basically it boils down to this, When we as humans do the same thing over and over again thousands of times or for countless hours our muscles actually "learn" how to react and our movements become "instinctual" and we don't have to think about them, making our reactions seem almost instantaneous. So, when you're told, practice, practice, practice, here...the old timers aren't kidding. It can take a long time, and speed is not of utmost importance but muscle memory is still key to the game, the more you do it, the better you will get.     

countryscroller

Re: The science of scrolling
« Reply #1 on: October 30, 2013, 02:14:01 pm »
That makes sense to me. When I would cut a portrait with a lot of cuts, after a while it would seem like I am just watching myself cut it and my hands are doing all the work. I'm not really thinking about the motions of the turns or anything. Kind of weird.

Offline EIEIO

• Be Prepared.
    • View Profile
    • RMHayes, LLC
« Reply #2 on: October 30, 2013, 02:25:30 pm »