Author Topic: BLO and Mineral Spirits  (Read 3177 times)

Offline Toneman

• View Profile
    • TLC Miniature Horse Farm
BLO and Mineral Spirits
« on: May 14, 2013, 09:02:03 am »
I know the subject of BLO/Mineral Spirits has been discussed many times, but, I have a couple of questions. I have never used either product, but, went to Home Depot and purchased a gallon of each. The oil is boiled and the spirits is odorless. After mixing, I felt the mixture was still too thick for my liking and thought the mineral spirits was strange.( looked like milk, even after shaking, is this right?). I was really pleased with how my wood looked, but, still did not like the thickness. I was wandering if the spirits were bad? I have never used it before, just paint thinner instead. How much would it effect the results of the BLO if I added more spirits or should I just use it as is? The problem I have with the thickness is getting it out of fret work areas, etc. Since I have never used either of these products, I would appreciate feedback from those who use this mixture.

Tony,aka,Toneman

Offline Billy in Va

• DONT GROW UP ITS A TRAP!!!
    • View Profile
Re: BLO and Mineral Spirits
« Reply #1 on: May 14, 2013, 09:25:47 am »