Author Topic: which brand of scroll saw machine is better?  (Read 2989 times)

Offline frankorona

• Frankorona (Frank) (Crown)
    • View Profile
    • Frankorona?s workshop
which brand of scroll saw machine is better?
« on: May 06, 2015, 06:19:31 pm »
Hello to all of you.
I have a question:
which brand of scroll saw machine is better?
1) Makita sj401
2) Craftsman
Thanks in advance for your reply.

Jarrett

Re: which brand of scroll saw machine is better?
« Reply #1 on: May 07, 2015, 07:16:34 am »
I actually was going to buy a Craftsman last week. Looks good online. Got to sears and it just looked cheap and not well built. I did try a skil from Lowes after 2 days took it back and ordered an Excalibur 16". I am new to scroll sawing but if I would have started out with the Skil I would have quit. Do not know anything about the other saw good luck with your quest!

Spartan scroller

« Reply #2 on: May 09, 2015, 07:16:39 pm »
Whatever one you are using and like.

regards,
Terry

Offline EIEIO

• Be Prepared.
    • View Profile
    • RMHayes, LLC
« Reply #3 on: May 10, 2015, 01:54:30 pm »
Frank - if you can find a woodworking store in your area, they sometimes arrange demo days when manufacturers are one hand to demonstrate their equipment. They'll let you try the features and point out the differences.

For my opinion, the Porter-Cable ($180 with light and stand) is a great low-cost machine. It is solidly built, has a little bigger motor than usual, and works very well. But it does not have a lifting top arm, and you need to tilt the table (not the blade) for angle cuts. If I were staying under $200 that is the machine I'd go for (in fact I did for my 1st scroll saw).

Once I got hooked on scrolling I bought a 21" Excaliber. It is a beautifully made machine with stay-in-place lifting top arm and a tilting head/blade (rather than tilting the table). It costs about $850 with the stand and you need to add a light and foot switch.