Author Topic: Mouse on Cheese pattern, made into box question  (Read 1444 times)

chefman

Mouse on Cheese pattern, made into box question
« on: August 26, 2013, 11:31:47 pm »
I remember seeing someone make a box out of Steve's pattern with the mouse sitting on the cheese. My question is, how would I make a pattern for the layers of cheese so the walls come out correctly? I'm not sure I'm asking it correctly, but I want to make sure the 2nd line (the inside line of the cheese) is perfectly set so all walls are even? I'm really new to the whole making pattern idea, (really really new lol). Any help would be appreciated. :)

TIA
Chefman

Offline Rapid Roger

• Hutchinson, Kansas
    • View Profile
Re: Mouse on Cheese pattern, made into box question
« Reply #1 on: August 27, 2013, 09:04:03 am »
I'm not sure what you are asking about and it would depend on how big of a box you want but.......

I would cut two or three wedges out of 1-1/2" (or even 3/4") material and cut the inner part of the box out of them as close as possible and stack glue them to get the depth.
 Keep the walls at least 1/4"+ thick. A lot of sanding (and or filing) will be required to get the inside a smooth as possible. Then glue on the bottom (same shape as the outside of the box) and sand the outside smooth.
The top can be done in the same manner only don't glue it on. You may have to use tape on two of the three sides while you sand one of the sides and then move the tape around to finish each side one at a time. I would use a slab of the inner cutout to locate the top by resawing one of the scrap pieces and gluing it to the inside of the top.
Glue the mouse on top and finish as desired.
If you have ever cut a bowl or vase, you will understand what I'm talking about and know that extensive sanding is just part of doing anything really cool.  ;)
Good luck and of course you need to post a picture of the finished box and, it wouldn't hurt to post some I.P. photos also! (In Progress)  ;)

Rog