Author Topic: printing patterns  (Read 2123 times)

scrolldon

printing patterns
« on: February 17, 2016, 09:46:07 am »
Hi Steve, I have been following you for quite some time now and love your site!! Thank You!!
Now, I remember quite some time ago you had info about a printer you had sent out info about, to be able to print out a pattern and use a chemical on the paper and transfer the pattern to your wood, to eliminate tracing with carbon paper as I still do. Can you repost and share this or steer me to the info? And, also did you or do you use this process?  Thanks so much, Don

Offline Aggrajag

• View Profile
Re: printing patterns
« Reply #1 on: February 18, 2016, 11:51:04 am »
Just curious, but why don't you just print it out, glue it on and cut around it? I thought that was how everyone did it. (I'm not criticising in ANY WAY, I'm genuinely curious as I'm pretty new to this.)

Offline julief

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: February 19, 2016, 06:39:37 am »
Hi Don,  most of us print the pattern and use a spray adhesive or glue stick to adhere it to the wood.  I have seen photos transferred to wood for other reasons using an ink jet printer (it has to be ink jet).  For your basic cutting, cut through the paper.  It is much easier and faster.  I used carbon paper at first but this way is so much easier and faster.

Offline Aggrajag

• View Profile
« Reply #3 on: February 19, 2016, 06:57:50 am »
I used to use a glue stick to stick the paper direct to wood but found it was leaving residue, especially if it wasn't completed/removed quickly. I then read that people did this but on "painters tape" but I never found a good (cheap) source for this in the UK so I tried masking tape and it works a treat. A few strips of wide masking tape across the wood, glue stick the pattern to that and then I can leave it on as long as I want without any residue remaining when I remove it.

Offline Dannyb

• View Profile
« Reply #4 on: February 19, 2016, 12:29:34 pm »