Author Topic: finishing work  (Read 2399 times)

rochar3

finishing work
« on: December 27, 2011, 06:50:04 pm »
Hello,
I am rather new to scrolling and would like to know what everybody does to mount their work. I did a portrait of a dog out of 1/8 plywood and am at a loss as what to do to display same. What size backer board, do you paint the backer board. Etc.Etc.
Thanks for your help.
Bob

tux_linux

Re: finishing work
« Reply #1 on: December 27, 2011, 08:13:55 pm »
Frame it. That looks best.

Offline mrsn

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: December 27, 2011, 08:44:56 pm »
When I have a 1/8" project I always frame it some how. You can find nice frames at craft stores (Michael's or JoAnn) cheaper frames can be found at Walmart, dollar stores or thrift stores. I really like matting the project before framing (basically a piece of cardboard center the wood and frame) you can also make your own frames. You can buy picture frame molding from Menards, Lowes, Home Depot or similar places. Making a frame is really nice if the project is an odd size.
When I buy a frame I usually use felt (charcoal or black mostly)  or printed cardstock (found in the scrapbook section of craft stores) . When I make a frame I stain the backer darker then the front and use 1/8" ply.

Offline Barry

• View Profile
« Reply #3 on: December 27, 2011, 09:25:21 pm »
I usually use the same size backer board and make it out of 1/8 plywood.  Any thicker and you will have a hard time fitting it in a standard frame.  I spray paint my backer with a flat black finish.  As mrsn said many people use felt or card stock, which you can buy at any craft shop, these give you more variety of color.

I use Arlene's tacky glue.  It is clear, and it also dries clear, which helps the glue not to show.  I don't use glass.  I take the glass out for two reasons.  I don't like the glare and it keeps the piece thin enough to fit well in the frame.