Author Topic: My newbie experience.  (Read 4223 times)

yankeebum2

My newbie experience.
« on: September 01, 2010, 09:24:03 am »
Yesterday afternoon I was working on my scroll saw. I'm not experienced but learning day by day. Pattern was Steve's wall clock, using maple wood for the first time. Blade was a #5 rev. I was noticing "some" significant differences in the wood. (I usually use aspen, poplar or red oak). After some time I'm wondering if I?m gonna be able to cut this wood. I check my wood hardness guide and rule out that the hardness of maple is the problem. Try cutting some more, my piece is bouncing around, can?t seem to be able to cut a straight line. By this time I?m thinking "somethings wrong with my craftsman saw, how am I gonna come up with the money to buy a new one now" I take a beer break to think of my options. I figure I?ll just change the blade and hopefully maybe just a tooth broke. Well as most experienced probably already figured out the big dummy  ??? (me) had the blade in upside down. I was both relieved and feeling quite dumb. Anyone else ever made that rookie mistake?

Dawie

Re: My newbie experience.
« Reply #1 on: September 01, 2010, 09:32:10 am »
 ;D Ye don't feel all alone, been there done that, especially with finer blades, now use a magnifying glass if I can't see which way the teeth run,that works well. Guess that won't happen to you again.
David

Offline Judy Hunter

• The world moves on.
    • View Profile
    • Artistic Sawdust and Other Fun Stuff
« Reply #2 on: September 01, 2010, 09:32:55 am »
Been there...done that  ;D
I'm from North Dakota

Offline julief

• View Profile
« Reply #3 on: September 01, 2010, 09:39:14 am »
Welcome to our world.  We have all done that (more than once).

Offline scrollgirl

• View Profile
    • Sheila Landry Designs
« Reply #4 on: September 01, 2010, 09:39:27 am »