Author Topic: Pine vs Polar  (Read 3290 times)

northie66

Pine vs Polar
« on: July 11, 2010, 06:19:04 pm »
Could someone give me the pros and cons between these 2 woods?

Offline towdude3

• View Profile
Re: Pine vs Polar
« Reply #1 on: July 11, 2010, 07:32:47 pm »
i much prefer poplar. I can't seem to find any good pine around my area. Pine seems to cut easier than poplar but poplar has nice grain and finishes great. I have cut all of my recent projects from poplar. Pine is usually alot cheaper but you get what you pay for. I'm not an expert by far but thats my 2 cents. Mike

Offline Russ C

• Global Moderator
  • Central Florida - USA
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: July 11, 2010, 07:37:21 pm »
Ok polar? I am thinking you mean Poplar,(woody plants of the genus Populus, species include poplar, aspen, and cottonwood) ?.?.?  ???
russ@simplywoodencreations.com

Keep The Blade On The Line.

Offline dgman

• View Profile
« Reply #3 on: July 11, 2010, 07:47:42 pm »
Hey Janet, I cut a lot of pine for Ladies who teach tole painting. Pine is fine if your are painting your projects as you do. It is softer than poplar, but can have rough edges, which may mean more sanding. Pine is cheaper than poplar also. Pine does have a lot of knots and sap and can warp if is to moist. Poplar has a finer grain that wont show through your paint.
So if your looking for a less expensive wood, go ahead and try some pine.
Dan In Southern California

Offline dunk

• Staying positive.
    • View Profile
    • Mike's Wood-n-Things
« Reply #4 on: July 11, 2010, 07:50:06 pm »
I agree with what has been said.  I also find that Poplar has a tighter grain more suited fro painting than Pine.  I do not have the problem of the wood taking charge of where the blade goes using poplar.
Mike

Junk is something you've kept for years and throw away three weeks before you need it.

northie66

« Reply #5 on: July 11, 2010, 08:39:28 pm »
Yeah... I meant poplar... typo there.  Thanks for the input!

sp_343