Author Topic: Hello Everyone, newbie here!  (Read 2571 times)

MicahM

Hello Everyone, newbie here!
« on: August 31, 2013, 12:00:13 am »
Hello newbie scroller here,

I am new to this forum and new to scroll sawing. I am from Texas and I love woodworking, I do woodturning and powercarving and soon to be scroller! I am 20 years old, will be 21 on September 24th. I am getting a scroll saw for my birthday, thanks to my nice and generous aunt. :) Most people my age are excited to turn 21 so they can start drinking lol I am excited I get a scroll saw  :o ;D :D I actually haven't gotten my scroll saw yet, it is on order and waiting for shipment from Woodcraft at the moment. I was not sure what saw to get and I seen many people talking about Excalibur is good so I got the Excalibur 21" scroll saw Woodcraft currently has for $849.99. It is the black one that comes with the stand and foot pedal. I also ordered to assortment pack of Flying Dutchman blades from mikesworkshop.com. Is this a good setup to dive into scroll saw projects? Or have I gone all wrong?
« Last Edit: August 31, 2013, 12:20:46 am by MicahM »

Offline wombatie

• Victoria Australia
    • View Profile
Re: Hello Everyone, newbie here!
« Reply #1 on: August 31, 2013, 04:31:38 am »
Hi Micah, welcome to the forum.  I'm Marg from Australia.  You seem to be a very sensible young man and yes you have got things right, very right.  What a fantastic Aunt and niece you must have. Don't forget to have some fun though. :D :D :D :D

Marg
MARG

No one notices what I do until I'm not here to do it............

rob roy

« Reply #2 on: August 31, 2013, 04:43:56 am »
Hello Micah, I'm Roy from Scotland. Welcome to the mad house. I don't think you could have done any better.Some of us old timers have not graduated to an Excalibur yet ;D ;D. You'll get all the help and information you need here, just ask. So come on in and enjoy the fun. Hope you have a great birthday. You must be a favourite nephew. ;) ;).
Rob Roy.