Author Topic: New to Scrollsaw  (Read 2400 times)

rgwhisenant

New to Scrollsaw
« on: January 13, 2013, 01:01:02 pm »
Good afternoon.  I'm new to the scroll saw and I'm struggling a little.  I don't have a very expensive saw, and I have a couple of questions.

1.  How do you know if the blade tension is correct?

2.  If I make an interior cut, I have to bend the crap out of the blade to get it into a hole in the middle of the board.  Does that degrade the blades accuracy?

Roger

Offline dgman

• View Profile
Re: New to Scrollsaw
« Reply #1 on: January 13, 2013, 02:21:09 pm »
Hi Roger, welcome to the forum! You want to have a high tension on the blade. You want to hear a high "ping" when you pluck the blade.
 And yes, it does degrade the blade if you kink the blade. You must find a better way to move to interior cuts, weather it means taking the blade completely out of the clamps or some other way to accomplish this.
Dan In Southern California

ChuckD

« Reply #2 on: January 13, 2013, 03:23:35 pm »
DGMAN hit the nail on the head with the tone of the blade.  I would not know the "a high C" from a low F.  If you are the same, try to move the blade.  It should not move more than 1/8th inch in any direction. 
As far as bending the blade, that is no problem as long as you don't, as dgman said, put a kink in them.  The kink makes a weak spot but they do bend.
Good Luck  :):):)

rgwhisenant

« Reply #3 on: January 13, 2013, 04:09:47 pm »
Thanks for the tips.  Is there a saw I can buy that has an upper arm that lifts out of the way completely?

Offline dgman

• View Profile
« Reply #4 on: January 13, 2013, 04:29:24 pm »
Thanks for the tips.  Is there a saw I can buy that has an upper arm that lifts out of the way completely?
Three saws come to mind. The DeWalt 788, the Exalibur EX16 and EX21, and the Delta 40-695. Any of these saws will serve you well!
Dan In Southern California

king310

« Reply #5 on: January 13, 2013, 05:19:50 pm »