Author Topic: Help me with Finishes  (Read 3010 times)

agooday88

Help me with Finishes
« on: January 03, 2015, 08:08:31 pm »
I am kinda new to scroll sawing but I feel that I have come a long way. I would like some advice on what you use to finish your wood projects. I first was told to use polyurethane, then someone suggested to use spray lacquer then I heard that shellac is good too. I am totally confused now and I would like your opinion. I want to have a beautiful shiny finish on my projects and I don't know which will give me that results. I have searched many videos and they all say that all of them are good. I need more details please. As of now, I am making wall decorations. Thanks all.

Offline BilltheDiver

• View Profile
Re: Help me with Finishes
« Reply #1 on: January 03, 2015, 09:14:24 pm »
The reason you are getting conflicting suggestions is because each of those finishes and many others as well are all good.  Some have certain properties and others have other properties.  Shellac and lacquer are both very fast drying, and do not require sanding between coats.  Both can be brushed or sprayed.  Polyurethane is a very durable finish and can be used out doors if exterior is chosen.  Varnishes (including poly) can be sprayed or brushed and are available in gloss, satin or matte.  Oils are easy to wipe on, and very forgiving, but don't last as long or wear like the more durable finishes.  You have to decide what is important to you, what the use of your project is, and what you are comfortable using in order to make a choice.  Sorry if I am confusing you more, but no single finish is the answer for each person and situation.
"Measure twice, cut once, count fingers"

agooday88

« Reply #2 on: January 03, 2015, 09:19:32 pm »
Thank you. Actually you did not confuse me at all. I got a lot out of what you said. It makes more sense now as to why I got so many opinions. I will do more Googling. lol

Offline jrpeteo

• View Profile