Author Topic: Need advice on a sander  (Read 2257 times)

Becky

Need advice on a sander
« on: July 09, 2013, 11:21:19 pm »
I've been going along with a combo disk and belt sander that I picked up at Harbor Freight.  I didn't use the disk part for a long time until I discovered that I could get a stick-on hook and loop backer from Klingspor, making it easy to change sanding discs.  Long story short, I love the concept but I am not wild about my machine.  I'm ready to plunk a bit more money down but I realize I have a lot of questions.

I've been making some clocks.  The past couple of patterns have required 30 degree bevels for pointed roofs.  Maybe I am not good at bevels on my saw or maybe it is something else but my pieces never came out even.  I had some luck on a small clock just leaving the pieces square and then sanding with the disk sander at 30 degrees to sand everything nice and even after assembly.  I am not even sure if I should use a belt or a disk sander to do that (question #1!).  Which is the best tool for that sort of thing?

Next, I don't think the angles I am getting when I switch the thing to 30 degrees is all that accurate.  I can do the housing part and then the roof pieces and they don't match up *quite* right.  What's the best way to make sure my angles are right?

Finally, do you have a sander you would recommend?  Even if the angle was perfect, my little table rocks a little and that can't be good although I honestly don't know how bad it is.  I don't know if my mis-fits are due to table movement or funky angles.

Anyway, I sure would be grateful for some advice.  Better tool, better technique - I am open to anything that will help.

I started making a larger clock and I don't think my 6" disk is big enough (even if it is the right sort of tool to use for this).  What size should I be looking at - belt or disk?