Author Topic: Newbie here from Vermont  (Read 2727 times)

neal560sl

Newbie here from Vermont
« on: December 12, 2014, 05:48:28 pm »
Hi everyone!  I just found this site around two weeks ago and am amazed with the patterns Steve has online.  I am 62 and newly retired and started using the older style jigsaw on my Shopsmith to give me something to do now that cold weather has truely taken hold.  I'm very curious if there is a huge differnce between the older style jigsaw vs the newer scroll saws.

Neal

Offline Russ C

• Global Moderator
  • Central Florida - USA
    • View Profile
Re: Newbie here from Vermont
« Reply #1 on: December 12, 2014, 06:03:52 pm »
Glad you found us Neal. Hi I'm Russ from Florida your local moderator. Welcome to the Scrollsaw Forum.  :)
russ@simplywoodencreations.com

Keep The Blade On The Line.

Offline pierre62

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: December 12, 2014, 06:36:57 pm »
Welcome to the forumNeal
I am Pierre from Qu?bec, Canada.
Pierre

Offline julief

• View Profile
« Reply #3 on: December 13, 2014, 05:30:11 am »
Hi Neal and welcome to the forum.  I'm Julie from Texas.  Glad you are here.  There is a world of difference between a jigsaw and scrollsaw.  The blades on a scrollsaw are connected on both ends because they are extremely thin for cutting fine lines.  The jigsaw blade is thick enough and sturdy enough to stand on it's own.  Even the largest scrollsaw blade is too thin to cut without being connected on both ends.  It would just bend.  Check out some of the videos on Steve's BlogSpot to get an idea.

neal560sl

« Reply #4 on: December 13, 2014, 02:24:44 pm »
Hi Julie,