Author Topic: hi! I'm a member!  (Read 2777 times)

mshines

hi! I'm a member!
« on: September 15, 2013, 08:36:37 pm »
Hello everyone! I have been doing a few woodworking projects-self taught-learning the hard way.  Most of the things I have done have been with my router on pine.  My husband just bought me a scroll saw :)  I have recently had hand surgery so I haven't been able to use it yet >:( During my recovery time I have discovered this website! Haven't done anything in 4 days but watch videos on woodworking on you tube! I went to town today to buy wood so that I could be ready once I recooperate.  this was a disheartening experience since all  we have is Lowes.  I thought my first project should be the scroll saw basket.  I don't know what wood or thickness to use.  It appears I will have to order wood so I need some thoughts on what to start out with...I don't want to break the bank when I mess up my first few projects. 

countryscroller

Re: hi! I'm a member!
« Reply #1 on: September 15, 2013, 08:51:20 pm »
Welcome, I'm Dustin from Ohio. Glad to have you with us. When I started, I bought Baltic Birch Ply from Lowes and made bowls. Since you can buy it in thicknesses of 1/4, 1/2, and 3/4 there, I found it was great to practice and learn with it without breaking the wallet. I still use 1/4 for portraits because all you see it the top, not edge where the plys are. Good luck with it and enjoy!

mshines

« Reply #2 on: September 15, 2013, 09:33:02 pm »
Oh thank you!  I did purchase 1/4,1/2,and 3/4" birch just to learn(and there were not many other options) but I didn't know how that would turn out. When making the bowl which thickness should I try first?

countryscroller

« Reply #3 on: September 15, 2013, 10:05:50 pm »