Author Topic: Made my first trip to my local Woodcraft today!  (Read 1427 times)

Dreklie

Made my first trip to my local Woodcraft today!
« on: December 14, 2015, 11:46:44 pm »
So I am a beginner woodworker (for about 2 months now) and figured it was time to graduate from pine, oak, poplar, and random plywood to something a bit more interesting. I picked up a few board feet of Bubinga, Basswood (do not like it at all ... super super soft), and my absolute favorite ... Walnut.

Walnut is absolutely gorgeous, works well, clear coats look amazing, and it's just a great, great wood. The Bubinga was VERY difficult to work with as a beginner, very thick, very heavy, and very, VERY hard. I was afraid my scroll blade was going to over heat and snap so I would take breaks every minute or so. The Bubinga was 4/4 thickness so that may have contributed to it.

Any suggestions on lumber that is like Walnut? Was also looking for some lumber that goes well with Walnut, I think the most obvious is Maple (or Basswood - which I thought would go well with it but it is just far too soft and I do not enjoy it at all).

Offline don in brooklin on

• View Profile
Re: Made my first trip to my local Woodcraft today!
« Reply #1 on: December 15, 2015, 03:15:32 am »
Firstly, Woodcraft is usually a very expensive source for wood unless on sale.  Where are you located?  Someone here maybe able to direct you to a local supplier or mill.

For hardwood, have used walnut, (especially Peruvian if I can get), African Mahogany, Maple, Cherry and Popular.

It all depends on the type of work you are doing.

Also, some blades are better that other on hardwood.  I usually use Flying Dutchman Ultra Reverse for 90% of the work but I do use Polar blade on something the is real hard like Purple Heart. 

Offline Bill Wilson

• View Profile
    • Blazin' Blades Scrollers of Western PA
« Reply #2 on: December 15, 2015, 10:32:17 am »