Author Topic: Using "wood stain" on pine--Question  (Read 3128 times)

SamCec

Using "wood stain" on pine--Question
« on: July 20, 2010, 07:50:27 am »
Hi Steve:

I'm new to scroll sawing and I am trying to learn the tricks of doing it. There is a lot of practice involved.

One thing I noticed, on certain woods when I try to "stain" them, the stain does not take very well, it blotches. From your recommendations, I need to use a primer. Can you recommend a clear primer that is good when you use a stain?

Thanks,

Dragonlord85

Re: Using "wood stain" on pine--Question
« Reply #1 on: July 20, 2010, 11:12:39 am »
SamCec, when choosing a sealer to apply before stain you always want to make sure it is compatible with the stain type you are using. If the stain is water based then the pre-stain sealer should also be water based. If the stain is oil based then the sealer needs to be oil based. Most stains, like Minwax have sealers formulated for their stains. Next time you go to where you get your stain look for the proper sealer to go with it. When you apply the sealer most recommend letting it set for a couple of minutes before applying the stain. I find this works very well on pine and poplar.

SamCec

« Reply #2 on: July 20, 2010, 12:26:02 pm »
SamCec, when choosing a sealer to apply before stain you always want to make sure it is compatible with the stain type you are using. If the stain is water based then the pre-stain sealer should also be water based. If the stain is oil based then the sealer needs to be oil based. Most stains, like Minwax have sealers formulated for their stains. Next time you go to where you get your stain look for the proper sealer to go with it. When you apply the sealer most recommend letting it set for a couple of minutes before applying the stain. I find this works very well on pine and poplar.
Thank you. The stain I am using is water based. I will purchase some and get back to you after trying it.

Thanks,

Sawdust Dave