Author Topic: Taking Pictures  (Read 2220 times)

Offline TripleB

• Simply put, I love Scrolling!
    • View Profile
    • Scroll Saw Paradise
Taking Pictures
« on: April 20, 2011, 03:33:52 pm »
I've noticed some of you take really beautiful pictures of your work. I'm pretty good with a camera and photo editing software, but it seems to take me forever to get a picture that I like for show casing my work. Any tips, tricks or techniques about how you set up to take them would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks
Bob

PS. Actually that bottle has been floating around here for quite awhile, empty, it was just something to take test pics with.
« Last Edit: April 21, 2011, 12:34:36 pm by TripleB »

Offline mrsn

• View Profile
Re: Taking Pictures
« Reply #1 on: April 20, 2011, 05:00:28 pm »
I'm not an expert but have a couple of tips.

The one thing I did that most improved my photos was getting a light tent.
Info on the one I got can be found in a review I did on Lumberjocks.
http://lumberjocks.com/reviews/1599
The light tent diffuses the light which helps, and reduces glare on shiny surfaces. I got a 12" one, and really should have gotten the larger size, my jewelry fits great but the rest of the stuff I do not so much. Light tents can be made cheaply also, Google "light tent" "light box" or "photo tent". I needed one that could be put away easily so I bought mine.

I find that an adjustable desk lamp is a great light source for the photography I do. Cheap and easy to move.

A tri-pod will help stabilize the camera and keep the images clear. This is really important when shooting without a flash as the camera needs more light to get the image. I almost always shoot projects with out the flash.