Author Topic: Bad luck on Excalibur EX30  (Read 4154 times)

mutora

Bad luck on Excalibur EX30
« on: March 25, 2011, 12:39:33 am »
Well my brand new Excalibur EX30 showed up today.  I've been using a Delta 16" scrollsaw for several years so was really looking forward to the new one.

Alas some difficulties arose.

First, the box was damaged.  The UPS guy was pretty cool about it and said he made a remark about possible content damage on his report.  Unfortunately this turned out to be true.  The tension adjustment knob on the rear of the upper arm had snapped off.  Not at the plastic but the bolt itself.  Also when set with blade perpendicular to the table, the blade almost rides on the right side of the hole in the table.  (not sure about that one). 

then I found out that with the arms locked into place, you can still wiggle the whole assembly a good amount.  I'm hoping this is just a screw that needs to be tightened inside.

so I get to make some calls tomorrow and see what can be done.  I'm hoping I can fix it here and not have to send it back considering the box is useless for shipping now LOL.

So.. I guess it's back to the old delta for a little while.  Will let you all know how things go.

Offline sgood

• Administrator
    • View Profile
    • Scrollsaw Workshop
Re: Bad luck on Excalibur EX30
« Reply #1 on: March 25, 2011, 01:07:03 am »
That's a shame. Did you order it from Seyco?

mutora

« Reply #2 on: March 25, 2011, 01:59:11 am »
No i ordered it from Redmond machinery in GA.  Will be talking to them tomorrow too see if saw can be repaired.

Offline jimbo

• View Profile
« Reply #3 on: March 25, 2011, 02:32:49 am »
It's up to them to pick it up and replace with new machine I would get on to Seyco if they don't come to the party a damaged machine is not a new one and no amount of repair work will make it like new, these are delicatly balanced machines and should be handle with the greatest respect in shipping
Jimbo

Offline Russ C

• Global Moderator