Author Topic: Best scroll saw to buy  (Read 2804 times)

samamish1

Best scroll saw to buy
« on: December 06, 2013, 04:51:30 pm »
Hi there.  I'm new to scroll sawing and have been working on a veeeeeery old scroll saw..maybe one of the first ones invented.  Anyway, it's a real hassle to change the blades to do inside work and it's got about a 12 inch arm (ideally I'd like longer).  So I'm looking into buying a new one and I was hoping for some suggestions??  I have no idea what brands are good or what to look for (I DO know to look for one that will accept pin and straight blades).  Ideally, I'd like it to be a good value, too--I know you have to give up quality if you're not willing to spend over, say, $300 or $400.  So any ideas out there to point me in the right direction would be much appreciated!

countryscroller

Re: Best scroll saw to buy
« Reply #1 on: December 06, 2013, 05:04:36 pm »
So it sounds to me you are using a foot pedal saw? Electric saws work great :) Well some suggestions are Dewalt 788, Excalibur, Hegner, Delta, there are many to choose from. Pretty much all accept plain end blades, just as you go higher in price, the better at precision and whatnot you get. I have a Dewalt and love it. Not having any experience with anything else, I can't say anything about other saws, so maybe someone else can help.

Offline EIEIO

• Be Prepared.
    • View Profile
    • RMHayes, LLC
« Reply #2 on: December 07, 2013, 01:13:38 pm »
There are 3 classes to consider - low cost, medium, and high. If you need to stay below $200 I'd suggest the Porter-Cable. It comes with a light and stand for $180. It's a good saw but without some of the details. Avoid the saw <$100 - you'll just have to upgrade sooner.

I upgraded from the P-C to an Excaliber EX-21. It is a great saw but costs >$800 with stand. I like the tilting blade rather than table.