Author Topic: blades  (Read 706 times)

Offline packman266

• View Profile
blades
« on: December 07, 2020, 12:27:39 pm »
just need some help choosing correct blades. I want to try some puzzles but need smaller blades then what I am currently using so the pieces fit tighter.
I am still new to this but really enjoying the learning curve.  thanks in advance for any help.

Offline KCSteve

• View Profile
Re: blades
« Reply #1 on: December 08, 2020, 09:49:00 am »
#5 blades will give you a very loose fitting puzzle.  Make sure your locks have really good necks and it will be ok - especially for kids.
#3 blades will be tighter but still loose.

To get the tight fitting puzzles you have to use some sort of puzzle blades.  2/0, 1/0, or ones just made for puzzles.  The problem is that the little buggers are wildly temperamental.  I tried four or five kinds before I found one that I could control on my saw (Superior Puzzle from Mike's Workshop).  Even then they can sometimes act like they're drunk.  Instead of the usual 3-5 degree offset they can cut at up to 45 degrees off the apparent line of cut.

Some tips for puzzle blades I've painfully accumulated:

Don't even bother trying to cut with a fresh, sharp blade.  You can slow your saw's speed way down and get more control but you'll still be fighting it for a bit.  I keep bits of scrap about 3" long and when I go to a fresh blade I cut a thin strip off of one edge to take that super-sharpness off the blade.  Sometimes I still slow the saw a bit for more control for the first few cuts.  And I'm using 1/4" rather than 1/8".

Go slow.  No, slower than that.  Any time you're trying to have control slow your feed rate down until you actually have control.