Author Topic: Why baltic birch?  (Read 4019 times)

Offline overfifty

• View Profile
Why baltic birch?
« on: December 03, 2013, 07:19:58 pm »
Baltic birch appears to be the material of choice for many scrollers - why? Thank you, Barry.

countryscroller

Re: Why baltic birch?
« Reply #1 on: December 03, 2013, 08:02:24 pm »
Well I'm sure people will go more in depth over it, but there are two types of plywood I know of. The kind you get at Lowes and the kind you get at like Michaels or a wood store. Simply baltic birch is really cheap and easy to come by. I get the Lowes kind and use it for portraits and what not. The Lowes kind has voids or holes going all the way through one end of the board to the other. I just don't use that part and get away with it. I'm not an expert on it, but I just like using it for portraits and what not. It has a nice grain pattern look on it and it is something cheap to get. I get mine in sheets 2' x2' or 2'x 4' depending on what vehicle I take to lowes with me.

Offline Dan26

• South of Milford, Ohio
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: December 03, 2013, 08:36:01 pm »
Here's a link that may not answer your question, but it has some good info: http://www.woodworkerssource.com/blog/?p=3066.

I think Baltic birch is used a lot because of availability. It has some good qualities and is relatively inexpensive compared to cherry, maple, and others. The quality varies quite a bit by where you get it and how much you pay. The big box stores sell construction/cabinet grade Baltic birch plywood which tend to have voids. The edges of these boards are usually covered. In scrolling, you want to avoid voids as it weakens delicate pieces. You can get aircraft grade Baltic birch plywood as certified and uncertified. You will pay more for the certified plywood but there seems to be no difference in the quality of the two.