Author Topic: Hello From Texas  (Read 3617 times)

TGamel

Hello From Texas
« on: December 04, 2012, 07:02:55 am »
My mother has many beautiful scroll pieces hanging on the walls of her home that her father made more than 20 years ago. He was an exceptional carpenter and craftsman, building two of his own homes, one more than 2500 sq ft with his Shopsmith Mark V; and he even did his own brickwork.The fact that he was not a contractor or in the building trades made quite an impression on me. By trade he was a salesman, but in his heart I believe he was a true artisan.

While I am a decent carpenter, I am not sure I have the heart of an artisan that he had. The one thing my Shopsmith has been missing is the scroll saw attachment. While I would love to have and use a Dewalt or Excaliber, neither is in my budget right now. And after watching Steve's videos I was convinced that I could learn to do some basic work with an entry level saw. As Shopsmith discontinued this accessory, I purchased an entry level Porter Cable scroll saw as I have always wanted one and finally have the time and place to enjoy it.

For some reason when I am in the shop a feel a strange bond with the man I never knew well enough as he died before I became a man and could appreciate his love and passion for making things of wood. I hope that one day my skills will allow me to make things that I can pass on to my family and friends that will make them smile the way I do when I look at pieces that he created.

First, however I need to spend more time on the scroll saw, because Steve sure makes it look easy! I have watched all the scroll saw school videos Steve has done here and have purchased a couple dozen Flying Dutchman #3, #5, and #7 blades. Still using the cheap pin blade that came with the saw, funny thing is, I do not even know what size blade it is. Anyway looking forward to learning some new skills.

Todd

Offline Russ C

• Global Moderator
  • Central Florida - USA
    • View Profile