Author Topic: De-lurking  (Read 3842 times)

Tako Kichi

De-lurking
« on: April 06, 2011, 10:52:45 pm »
Hi folks, after lurking for about a week I thought it was time I stuck my head through the door and said hello to all you fine scrollers.

My name is Larry, I'm 54 years old and I am an ex-pat Brit who's been living in Canada for the past 18+ years. I have dabbled in various forms of woodworking over the years and was very much into marquetry work in the early 1980's but I have never tried scroll work before, hence my presence here so that I can absorb as much info as possible!  ;D

About 10 years ago I was hit with a disabling medical condition that meant I lost my career as a result and I have been trying to get by on a small disability pension ever since. Being disabled means I have lots of empty hours to fill and I am hoping that scrolling will fill at least a few of those.  ;)

My start in scrolling has not been the best as I have already had to return the first machine I bought and I just took delivery of my second machine tonight. I started out with what looked like a good deal, one of the major Canadian chains had a recent sale on this machine.....