Author Topic: newbie patterns?  (Read 2757 times)

polsonmedic91

newbie patterns?
« on: May 06, 2010, 02:28:09 pm »
I am TOTALLY new to scrolling.  I have been making sawdust in my garage for about 2 weeks and have only tried a couple of patterns.  I am starting to get the hang of it, but sharp corners are my nemesis.  Following close lines is tough too but if I slow down I can do a reasonable job.

I am already tired of cutting out letters and numbers even though I am still not very good at them. LOL.

Does anyone have a few "beginners patterns" that I could practice on?  I am using mostly scrap plywood right now cuz it is cheap.  I have ordered some Luan plywood and finnish birch plywood in 1/8 and 1/4 inch in 12"x12" planks.

Someone must have something "cool" to practice on so I can quit making signs that say "Dads Shop", Abby's Room, etc.

Thanks a bunch.

Dragonlord85

Re: newbie patterns?
« Reply #1 on: May 06, 2010, 02:38:23 pm »
I know where you are coming from. If you check out Steve's site at http://scrollsawworkshop.blogspot.com/ he has some very nice and easy patterns to choose from. I will also look through my files to see what I ahve and will send them your way.

Offline Russ C

• Global Moderator
  • Central Florida - USA
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: May 06, 2010, 02:42:32 pm »
Check out the Mothers Day Heart in Brag Forum. It is fairly easy. If you like it I can e-mail you the pattern.  :)
Russ
russ@simplywoodencreations.com

Keep The Blade On The Line.

polsonmedic91

« Reply #3 on: May 06, 2010, 02:47:40 pm »
I would love a mothers day pattern!  Thanks for the generous offer.

I also forgot to say this in my original post, but my computer is screwed up and for whatever reason I can't print pdf files.  That has also limited what I have been able to access thus far.

Thanks again,

Eric
polsonmedic91@gmail.com

Offline Russ C

• Global Moderator
  • Central Florida - USA
    • View Profile
« Reply #4 on: May 06, 2010, 04:06:17 pm »