Author Topic: Super Newbie  (Read 953 times)

Offline Eaglesphan2719

• View Profile
Super Newbie
« on: January 14, 2021, 10:13:22 pm »
Hello Everyone! I say I am a super newbie as I have actually never used a scroll saw in my life up until a week ago. I just always wanted one due to all the cool things I have seen people make. I don't really have any experience in woodworking other than trying (keyword being TRYING, hahaha) to make a simple shelf to put some small stuff off the floor in my tiny little corner of the garage/workshop. But I am in LOVE with scroll sawing. I made a little wall decor thing for my daughter using a coloring book page and then I found this site and can't wait to make them. I do have a question though, what are some ways you all use to keep the dust down. While I was working my wife came and told me she could just taste sawdust. I tried hooking it up to a shop vac but the noise from the vac was unbearable and sucked my fun out too. I am unfortunately on a very low budget but any tips, tricks, hacks anything would be of great use. I appreciate it all!

Chris

Offline ThomasW63640

• View Profile
Re: Super Newbie
« Reply #1 on: January 15, 2021, 07:31:06 am »
The shop vac is a must you will just need to learn to over come the sound some folks wear ear buds and listen to fav pod cast or you could just use ear plugs the machine it's self is not that loud but the dust collection systems are and a must especially since the saws generally put out very fine dust which is the ones that are most harmful to our lungs.

Also the shop vac can be small, the smallest vac's will do the trick usually and are less noisy than say a 16 gallon one but that might cost a few extra bucks if a large one is all you have.

Anyway welcome and happy scrolling

ThomasW63640

Offline KCSteve

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: January 15, 2021, 11:04:45 am »