Author Topic: Beginner/Blades  (Read 1529 times)

Offline hockeyiowa

• View Profile
Beginner/Blades
« on: February 18, 2018, 09:38:46 am »
Hi, I’m a beginner and just purchased a scroll saw. Blades are confusing to me at this stage. I think I would like to get into Intarsia work. Can someone please advise me what size and type of blades I should stock up on and keep in my supply? Thank you all for all the information you share to help us beginners.
Thank you. I hope everyone has a great day and please be safe.

Offline jscott2

• View Profile
Re: Beginner/Blades
« Reply #1 on: February 18, 2018, 09:54:54 am »
Most scroll saws use pinless (plain end) blades so i will assume your saw uses them.  Many of the people on the forum use Flying Dutchman blades from Wooden Teddy Bear http://www.woodenteddybearonline.com/x/home.php.  To get your started, they have a variety pack of 12 of 5 different blades.  It's a good way to try different blades to find what works for you.

You will also find different people will use different blades for the same cut.  Again it is what you find works for you so don't be afraid to experiment.

Good luck.
Jim
Using a Delta 40-690 in the Montreal, Quebec (Canada) area

Offline hockeyiowa

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: February 18, 2018, 09:57:10 am »
Thank you for taking the time to reply and for the advice.
Thank you. I hope everyone has a great day and please be safe.

Offline Woodrush

• View Profile
« Reply #3 on: February 18, 2018, 10:02:36 am »