Author Topic: Newbie here My name is Laura(chanspirit)  (Read 1902 times)

Offline chanspirit

• View Profile
Newbie here My name is Laura(chanspirit)
« on: February 09, 2017, 09:51:55 am »
I'm extremely new to the scroll saw, i just bought one last week.
I bought an inexpensive Ryobi to see if this is something i am capable of doing. I've been wanting to try and use wood with polymer clay, saw steves video where he did an inlay with clay into a name on a key chain so thought i would check this site out.
The unit i bought uses pinned and unpinned blades, is there a better one to use over the other?
Also has anyone used a Ryobi? is it ok for a beginner?

Sorry so many ?'s

Offline DWSudekum

• View Profile
    • The DW Collection
Re: Newbie here My name is Laura(chanspirit)
« Reply #1 on: February 09, 2017, 11:32:07 am »
Laura,
Welcome to the Workshop.  We love questions and Pictures.  I also started out with a Ryobi and wore it out and went to the Dewalt 788.  The thing about scroll saws is you get what you pay for generally.  In general the pinless blades will be what you will be using most of the time with that saw.  In order to make those key chains you will have to drill an entry hole and there will be a lot of times where the largest hole you can place in a pattern a pinned blade will not fit through.  No worries though because the pinless blades fit in holes that are quite tiny.  We are looking forward to seeing your work as you progress.  Oh before I forget, :) , Scrolling is addictive like you would not believe.  Above all remember to have fun.

DW
Life is tough, it is even tougher if you are stupid  -  John Wayne

Offline apopj

• I support the THIN BLUE LINE
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: February 09, 2017, 04:18:19 pm »