Author Topic: Time for a new learning curve... :)  (Read 1999 times)

Offline Fingerwood

• View Profile
Time for a new learning curve... :)
« on: February 06, 2017, 11:04:43 pm »
Hello all and thank you Steve for approving my membership... especially since you are obviously overwhelmed with emails and somehow missed mine that asked some very (and probably overly) general questions. Perhaps I can find more information here. I can be a bit long winded at times so bare with me and I might even make you smile, giggle, cry or scream. You choose which of those that make you feel like answering my questions in a simple form that my simple and confused mind can understand. :)

Let me start by saying... YES! I AM A NEWBIE! That said I will provide you with my short yet, uh, how should I say this, informative history of my scrolling experience thus far. But first let me also state that I am still a bit of newbie to woodworking in general. I began woodworking in January of 2014. But a scroll saw was not my first choice of tools... it was actually a router. Why? I dunno, but I guess if I were to hazard a guess it would be a two part answer.

1. I had never used one and seeing some of the cool things online that could be done with a router I just wanted to try it.
2. It was the tool that scared me the most.

I think I was into woodworking for a year and about $4000.00 before I had found a need for a scroll saw (as I had discovered that there are times when a scroll saw is the "go to" tool for a specific need and was probably the "ONLY" tool) for some project I can't even remember now but I needed to be able to cut into the center of a board without cutting the outside and it was too small a cut for a router and a table saw blade and a band saw just wasn't gonna cut it either. Forgive the pun there please.