Author Topic: Newbie from south carolina  (Read 2199 times)

Offline carolinagirl58

• View Profile
Newbie from south carolina
« on: October 08, 2016, 08:26:35 am »
Hi everyone! I am from South Carolina and I just got my very first scroll saw.  It's a beauty....a Hawk G426.  It was at an estate sale.  Lots of testosterone at that sale and I was the only female bidder so I was amazed they left me alone and I got it,  they were all jumping on the big grizzly equipment and may not have noticed what a gem this saw was.  Anyway...it's currently sitting in my living room while I get busy on my workshop.  I also got a gorgeous german made workbench at this sale. It's also in my living room.

I am a total newbie to the scroll saw.  I have done lots of general woodworking over the years, but have wanted to do scroll saw work for a long time.  Especially intarsia. Wow do I love intarsia!!  So this will be fun. 

My new shop is 20'x24', made out of a metal carport.  Trying to decide if I want a concrete floor or a wood floor.  Decisions decisions!! Lol

Anyway...very happy to be here and looking forward to learning from everyone! Thanks!

Offline wedo

• View Profile
Re: Newbie from south carolina
« Reply #1 on: October 08, 2016, 09:15:23 am »
Welcome to the site! Hope you'll not be affected by Matthew. There is so much information and help here, so ask any question you have - you'll find the members very friendly.
Bill in Tennessee.

Offline Wooden Lace

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: October 08, 2016, 11:00:32 am »
Welcome and congrats on the new purchases.  Sounds like you're going to have a first rate shop.  Personally, I'd go with the wood floor.  My scroll shop is 1/4 of a 2 car garage and the concrete floor was SO cold in the winter.  Hubby installed a raised wooden floor and it's so nice...think he may have even put some insulation under it, but not sure.