Author Topic: Hegner problem, won't start  (Read 6633 times)

Jan-Pieter

Hegner problem, won't start
« on: February 10, 2015, 01:06:43 pm »
I have a 2004 Multicut 2Se which I've been using for 2 years.

I was sawing with an Olson Pgt #9, I noticed it was getting dull and it broke. I quickly turned the saw off. Replaced the blade and then  it wouldn't start again. In the past I've heard a sound when it didn't turn on immediately and occasionly it started a bit slow before it was at full speed. When googling for what might be wrong I also noticed I don't have a bumper rubber.

Does anyone know what might have broke? I kind of hope it's just the start capacitor which has a MTBF (mean time between failure) of 10-15yrs (see http://www.scrollsaws.com.au/spares-maintenance-scroll-saws-australia) or could I have burnt out my motor?

The power cord seems to work.

Offline BilltheDiver

• View Profile
Re: Hegner problem, won't start
« Reply #1 on: February 10, 2015, 03:24:54 pm »
I can't give you a definitive answer, but it is far more likely the capacitor than a burnt out motor.  Do you hear a hum when you turn the power on?  This may indicate a lost starter capacitor.  Do not leave it turned on for any length of time with a bad capacitor as it is hard on the motor.  Is it possible with that model to disconnect the motor from the drive and see if it will start with no load on the motor?  In the old days we would turn power on to a motor and then spin the shaft manually.  If it would start, it was the cap.

It shouldn't cost much to just replace the capacitor to find out if that is the problem.  Eliminate the cheapest part first is the theory.

Good luck!
"Measure twice, cut once, count fingers"

Jan-Pieter

« Reply #2 on: February 10, 2015, 03:43:06 pm »
There used to be a hum when it didn't start before, but since it stopped today there haven't been a hum.

Yes, replacing the capacitor won't cost that much and even if it isn't broke it prob could use a replacement.